School of Medicine Coronavirus Update:
Read for more details specific to medical students and School of Medicine events.

Curriculum Committee


The mission of the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine Curriculum Committee is to create an optimal learning environment and develop and implement the best possible curriculum for the medical students which will enhance their learning and provide a foundation for their professional careers as physicians.


Curriculum Committee Membership

Member Department Term Ends
Student Members (selected by class election)
Kyle Smith Class of 2019 5/2019
Joey Simmons Class of 2020 5/2020
Rebecca Wingfield Class of 2021 5/2021
Holly Farkosh Class of 2022 5/2022
Biomedical Sciences Members (selected by departmental election)
Piyali Dasgupta, Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences 2/2020
Beverly Delidow, Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences 2/2020
Larry Grover, Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences 2/2020
Maria Serrat, Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences 2/2020
Hongwei Yu, Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences 2/2020
Clinical Faculty Members (selected by departmental election)
Bonnie Beaver, M.D. Surgery 2/2021
James Day, M.D./Ph.D. Orthopaedics 2/2021
Doreen Griswold, M.D. Pathology 2/2021
Sean Loudin, M.D. Pediatrics 2/2021
Kelly Melvin, M.D. Psychiatry 2/2021
Non-Voting Administrative Attendees
Bobby Miller, M.D. Office of Medical Education (NON-VOTING)
Robbie Nance, BSAM
(Recording Secretary)
Office of Medical Education (NON-VOTING)
Nitin Puri, M.D./Ph.D.
(Executive Secretary)
Office of Medical Education (NON-VOTING)
Marie Frazier, M.D. Office of Medical Education (NON-VOTING)
Paul Ferguson, M.D. Office of Medical Education (NON-VOTING)
Michelle Ruppert, M.A. Office of Medical Education (NON-VOTING)
Amy Smith, M.Ed. Office of Student Affairs (NON-VOTING)
Mike McCarthy, M.A. IT (NON-VOTING)
Holly Dunmore, M.S. IT (NON-VOTING)


To convey any curricular issues, add items to the Curriculum Committee agenda, etc., please email the Curriculum Committee Chair, Nancy Norton at