Founded in 1977, the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine is a state assisted, community-based medical school. Our faculty and administration are committed to providing high quality medical education and graduate training to meet changing health care needs across our nation and throughout the world.

At Marshall, we specialize in rural health issues. Many of our students are from rural West Virginia. We train students in rural, clinical settings and we encourage our graduates to stay and practice in rural communities. 

We also believe that a diverse population leads to greater knowledge, understanding, acceptance, and mutual respect. Therefore, we promote an inclusive environment at Marshall by attracting, recruiting and retaining individuals who represent varying backgrounds and perspectives.

We invite you to become part of our growing legacy.