School of Medicine Coronavirus Update:
Read for more details specific to medical students and School of Medicine events.

Marshall Community Health Consortium

Marshall Community Health Consortium - Overview

The Marshall Community Health Consortium was established in 2014 by the working association of the Marshall University School of Medicine (MUSOM), Marshall Health, Valley Health Systems (VHS) and Cabell Huntington Hospital (CHH) to foster and promote the development of community-based rural primary care residency programs. 

As a nonprofit, the Consortium will engage its stakeholders in joint, community-centric training of primary care residents (Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, MED/PEDS and Pediatrics) to help meet the projected shortfall of physicians within the State of West Virginia, the Tri-State area and Central Appalachia. 

The Consortium is dedicated to centralizing, enhancing, and monitoring the education provided to house staff training at the following participating institutions and affiliated sites and is committed to meeting the demands and responsibilities inherent in maintaining graduate medical education program accreditation:  

  • Marshall University School of Medicine, established in 1977, is a community-based medical school dedicated to providing high quality medical education and postgraduate training programs to foster a skilled physician workforce to meet the unique healthcare needs of West Virginia and Central Appalachia. It is currently accredited by the ACGME for 13 residency and fellowship programs and was one of the beta schools who successfully completed a Clinical Learning Environment Review (CLER) visit. 
  • Marshall Health (Dba University Physicians and Surgeons, Inc.) represents the clinical component of the School of Medicine. It is comprised of highly-qualified health care providers of Marshall University’s Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine, and provides care for patients at more than a dozen locations in the region. Offering the latest in high-quality, multi-disciplinary health care, Marshall Health (MH) serves patients from nearly 29 counties in three states. Marshall Health supports the clinical, educational, research and service missions of the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine.
  • Valley Health Systems (VH) has been a leader in quality healthcare since 1975 and provides primary and preventative care to southern West Virginia and southeast Ohio in 28 locations across the region.  Valley Health is a system of health care facilities and medical experts providing care in family medicine, women’s health, dentistry, internal medicine, pediatrics and psychiatry and serves more than 68,000 patients each year. Valley Health’s mission is to provide quality health care to all individuals with an emphasis on reaching those who are underserved.
  • Cabell Huntington Hospital (CHH) is a not-for-profit regional referral center with 303 staffed beds. It cares for patients from more than 29 counties throughout West Virginia, eastern Kentucky and southern Ohio. Opened in 1956, CHH is a teaching hospital and is affiliated with Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine (MUSOM). As an Academic Medical Center affiliated with the School of Medicine, CHH has a longstanding history of teaching residents and fellows and recently successfully completed a CLER visit.

The Consortium has two participating sites:  Holzer Health Systems and Logan Regional Medical Center.

Holzer Health Systems has the only Consortium sponsored ACGME accredited residency program.  Located in Gallipolis, Ohio, the Holzer Family Medicine Residency Program has twelve residents who are dedicated to patient care. 

As part of its Sponsorship, the Consortium offers Marshall Tuesdays at Holzer, a Grand Rounds Lecture Series on the second and fourth Tuesdays of every month.

Logan Regional Medical Center has recently been added as a participating site.  Efforts are underway to start a Surgery Rural Training Track (RTT) Program with Logan.  RTT Residents will spend at least 50% of their five year training in Logan.  Dr. Farzad Amiri will be the Surgery Program Director and Dr. Jodi Cisco-Goff will be the Logan Rural Surgery Site Director.

Quick Links