Program Evaluation Committee


  • To participate actively in planning, developing, implementing, and evaluating all significant activities of the residency program.
  • To review annually the program using multiple sources of evaluation including evaluations by faculty and residents, board score results, and success of resident recruitment.
  • To assure that areas of non-compliance with ACGME standards are corrected.
  • To render a full, written, annual program evaluation (APE).


The program director must appoint the PEC members.  The committee must be composed of at least 2 members of the residency faculty and must include representation from the residents.


The PEC will meet semi-annually and will review:

  • Current program, common and institutional ACGME requirements
  • Follow up on previous citations
  • Goals and objectives of curriculum
  • Evaluation system
  • Didactic curriculum requirements
  • Effectiveness of clinical curriculum
  • Volume and variety of patients and procedures
  • Program Letters of Agreement
  • In house program evaluations by faculty and residents
  • ACGME faculty and resident surveys
  • Resident supervision policy
  • Recruiting results
  • Duty hour monitoring results
  • Research and scholarly activities of faculty and residents
  • Board scores, in training exam scores, graduate surveys
  • Clinical outcomes/QI projects 

If deficiencies are found, a written plan will be prepared to document initiatives to improve.

Program Evaluation Committee Members

Jay Naegele, MD
Assistant Professor
General Pediatrics/PHM

Hillary Porter, DO
Assistant Professor
Child & Adolescent Psychiatry

Kate Waldeck, MD
Associate Professor
Pediatric Critical Care

Eric Mendenhall, MD
PGY-3 Resident

Samantha Smith, MD
PGY-2 Resident

Farah Al Farajat, MD
PGY-1 Resident